The rapid growth of cities today has led to the appearance of a large number of slums. What are some problems associated with these poor and underdeveloped urban areas? What solutions could be proposed?

These days, more and more people are moving from the countryside to the city. This has caused an increase in the number of slums, which has lead to a number of negative effects. In this essay I will discuss the issues associated with slums, and offer some measures to tackle this problem.

There are a variety of issues which arise due to the appearance of slums. First of all, residents who live below the poverty line are often forced to turn to crime to make ends meet. The result of this is that crime rates in slums are higher than in other parts of the city. Secondly, because slums lack basic infrastructure such as sanitation and waste-removal systems, the amount of trash rises, which in turn leads to an increase in pollution. If people live in areas of poor sanitation, they frequently develop health problems, such as illnesses from drinking dirty water.

There are a number of measures which can be taken to solve the problems which are caused by urbanization. One viable solution in the long term is decentralization. If town councils move industries, offices and businesses out of the city centre to rural areas, then fewer people will migrate to urban areas. In order to encourage people and businesses to relocate, local governments should invest in the infrastructure and facilities in those areas.

In conclusion, it must be said that slums and urban sprawl have become a complex issue with no easy solutions. However, to my mind, the best solution would be to encourage businesses to relocate to rural areas. If the government implements this policy, it will provide a better life for future generations.