Governments should make education compulsory for all children between 5 to 15 years and this education should be offered free of cost. Do you agree or disagree?

Education for all has been a dream of many educationalists in the past and even today. Many developed countries have already realized this concept and students in those countries are reaping benefits. I believe students across the world should also have the benefit of free pre-primary and primary education as it gives them a chance to learn basic life skills and delivers the government from burden of stipends to unemployed.

Basic education allows one to differentiate between right and wrong, moral and immoral and also helps one in survival. For example, a person who has not been to school might not be able to calculate profit, loss and manythings that are necessary for a decent survival. At the same time, we are aware that many countries are populated with poor who cannot afford basic education and to ensure that they all receive at least basic education, the united nations should come together and ensure that free education is offered in all countries.

Apart from the above mentioned, basic education also increases employability of the youth which in turn reduces the burden on the governments who would otherwise have to bear the burden of unemployed youth. For instance, in the country where I live, there are some provinces where the government is giving financial aid to the unemployed youth every month. This in turn is landing the government in deficit. Instead, the governments should invest in the youth’s education which would eliminate the need for monthly stipends.

To summarize, governments across the world should give primary and secondary education free of cost to all children as it can help the youth in learning survival skills and also make them more employable.