Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no deny that there are various medium of entertainment like books, magazines, films and televisions. Some people argue that reading book is more beneficial than spending copious amount of hours seeing cinemas and television. I tend to believe that it is much useful reading books instead of watching movies.

To begin with, books enhances human knowledge and we learn new skills whether personal, professional or about art and world affairs aides to grow us as an individual. For example, a book on latest computer science could be helpful in learn new computer programming language which will add more value to resume of a professional thus help them in their career. Secondly, research has also shown that a person who is in habit of constant reading learns faster, adapts to new situations faster in comparison to other human being who just waste their time watching daily soap operas which have no value in life.

One of the major issue with watching movies and television is that one just sits idle at one place doing nothing except eating. For example, There have been ample of cases where people have gained significant weight due to just sitting and this leads to health issues from an early age. Where as when we read text materials we become more engaged with story and use our imagination which opens up creative mind to see possibilities which we cannot comprehend even using visual medium of entertainment.

In conclusion, movies and other mediums are not helpful in building one's creative ability although some movies are more engaging than books. There are more number of books which are far ahead of their counterparts in terms of making a person better.