Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Reading books and watching movies are considered as a source of entertainment and a knowledgeable activity where people can fantasize about their lifestyle and how they can improve it. Reading enhances a person's cognitive skills and decision-making capabilities while watching movies, dramas are considered scripted and adds nothing to a person’s creativity and I completely agree with this argument.

First of all, reading is a habit which should be instilled at a very young age when a child is developing his or her thinking capabilities. Reading demands dedication and those who read with dedication and a purpose develop a solid thinking process and can think out of the box which is very common when compared with the people who are T.V addicts. I have personally seen many changes in myself since I started competing in a reading challenge on “goodreads.com”, it has increased my analytical skills and now I see things with a different perspective which was missing before I started reading. This shows that reading plays a massive role in developing a person’s cognitive skills.

On the other hand, watching movies and shows have no significant impact on a person where they found themselves glued to T.V having learned nothing from a 2 or 1-hour long scripted show. Films and T.V shows have already decided their actors, place of shooting so you just need to sit down and take out your leisure time and watch it. For instance, many people prefer reading books instead of watching its movie because they think that a movie cannot depict exactly from its book in a 1 or 2-hour long show. That is why movies or a T.V show play no part in developing a person’s interpersonal skills.

In conclusion, I strongly advocate that reading is an excellent habit that helps a person stay mentally active, healthy and energetic while one cannot exactly say this about watching a movie or a T.V show as its audience gain nothing from it.