Reading is more educational than watching videos or TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some individuals that reading is more beneficial in education rather than seeing video lectures. I completely agree because it involves active learning and support in developing language skills also.

To begin with, the proponents of reading strongly advocates that students should give more importance to academic reading materials such as university authorized books and research papers. They also argue that digital contents can be used as introduction purpose and never for core subject matters. For instance, there are many YouTube videos available on human anatomy, but one can never become a doctor by seeing those videos. Core knowledge of any subject can be gained via reading only. Some studies show that there are more brain activities, during reading than seeing television or any visual medium.

In addition to that, reading not only improves the knowledge of the subject but also benefits in language learning. The repeated use of a word in writing can aid the reader to understand the meaning of the same word in a different context, therefore it helps a learner in vocabulary, which he or she can apply while writing a topic. For instance, often reading a newspaper daily helps in improving vocabulary as readers come across with same word many times with different context, therefore I believe that reading is much more educational than videos or TV.

In conclusion, reading subjects concept is widely accepted by educational institute because it helps the reader to sharpen the brain during activity and benefits in other aspects also. Introduction of computer technology has also boosted the reading prospects to some extent by the addition of eBooks.