In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or a negative development?

Large shopping complexes have become a booming success in the recent years, with growing urban culture and improvement of living standards of people. I strongly believe it is a positive development of the economy of the country.

Nowadays people have become more knowledgeable of varieties of products and in a shopping mall they are able to get them easily, whereas in small shops these items may be available in small quantities or not at all. In addition, one of the main attractions of large shopping centre’s the availability of commodities from all around the world under one roof. For examples, Thai mushrooms are readily available in shopping malls but as it is not a very popular item for cooking the small shops may not store them.

Moreover, there are many small shops that have seen considerably profit and have opted to open a shop in the malls or planned to upgrade their business on a larger scale, thereby closing the old shop. For example, an ice cream seller has made a small amount of profit selling ice creams and can do better business if he can set up a small parlor in the mall, he would plan to close the small shop in order to run the parlor. However, a small shop could close down due to a variety of reasons such as the location of the shop, the items in the shop and the marketing strategy of the shopkeeper to attract new customers.

To recapitulate, the large shopping centers hold far more attractions than the local shops which are not always possible for the latter to supply and closure of the small shops need not be entirely because of them.