In recent years , many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.Is this a positive or negative development ?

Public shopping preference kept on changing from village fate to city market to recently shopping malls. In this essay I will discuss pros and cons of malls with my opinion.

To begin with, large shopping centers have revolutionised the way shopping was done earlier. It brought all the shops under one roof, providing one destination for the customers to purchase variety of goods. It has numerous benefit, first and the most prominent is that it reduces the distance one has to travel in market from one shop to another thus saving their energy which can be capitalized for shopping further. Secondly, parking provision in malls make them a ideal shopping destination for high end customers as they usually commute by cars. It is the one of the major concerns with old markerting areas as they were developed when cars were very rare, usually customers used to come by walking. Thirdly, offers and discount coupons offered by the mall also helps the customers in saving money. Moreover, they can compare the prices of same products on various shops as they are very near to each other they do not have to travel much. Additionally, they also have separate section for kids where they can play games and do other related activities hence they do not disturb their parents while shopping.

On the flip side, it has caused a major dent in the sale's figure of local shops, most of them are at brink of closure, as they are out classed by the malls in the market thus causing unemployment among the local shopkeepers. Malls do not have space for the cottage industry products, which were earlier sold by vendors in the market. This causes the decline in cottage industry which act as driving force of village economy. Further, products in the malls are expensive as their price include all the amenties offered by the malls making them unaffordable for the lower middle class.

Finally, malls are here to stay, they are future of the shopping market, as they need less space and make efficent use of it. Moreover, customers like shopping over there and have faith in transparency offered by them. Malls and small shops should coexist then only the every customer can be served properly and every manufactured good would have a market space.