In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

Growth of shopping plazas and malls have totally transformed retail industry. Now more and more people are purchasing from them instead of neighborhood stores. This essay will discuss both aspects of argument and argue why this is positive trend for society.

Firstly, big shopping places offer variety of products and competitive prices to their customers. They have large assortment with proper planograms, it helps shopper to easily compare product with its competitor and get good deal for him. Instead of running pillar to post, all needs can be fulfilled under one roof. As these stores buy in bulk quantity and they pass on discount to end consumer in form of promotions and bundle offers. It helps to customers to get quality products at competitive rates. For example, we use to purchase grocery from international chain store, Carrefour. Even buying recipe, we have five to eight different companies’ product available which helps us to get more value for money.

On flip side, growth of these outlets has led negative effects on economy as well, many people associated with small retail stores are out of business now and income inequality is also increasing.

To conclude, we can say that this has benefited shoppers however led to closure of many small-scale outlets. But overall with its contribution towards customer welfare, it is surely a positive change.