In recent years, many small local shops have closed customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping.

Is this a positive or negative development?

In the modern times, the petite local shops have less sales when compared with big shopping centers.people are giving more importance to the bigger shopping malls.This essay briefs whether the preference of people to big shopping malls is a positive development or a negative one.

Previously,before the inauguration of huge shopping malls,people were driven towards the small shops and were purchasing their daily requirements in these shops.These shops had less price when compared to the shops in the malls.For example,if a person wants a watch he might go to a normal watch shop where he gets a huge collection of watches at a reasonable price. The people were satisfied with what was available in the local shops

On the other hand, the shopping malls have attracted many people in terms of branded,expensive products and they are happy to entertain themselves inside the theatres and continue their shopping in the same place after the movie gets over.people also got attracted towards the branded items.For example, a huge collection of branded watch shops such as the titan,timex,fast track are available in the malls.The malls have exclusive vehicle parking where it is easy for the people to get their vehicle parked.These malls have pulled the people towards them leaving the local mini shops to incur a huge loss.This in turn makes many number of shopkeepers to shut down their shops and open one inside the mall where the rent is too high.In turn the people are also affected by this as they are levied a big price when compared with the purchase at the local shops.

In the conclusion,the malls have brought a remarkable negative impact for all the small shopkeepers in terms of sales as well as the people in terms of expenses but the people are not aware of it.