In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this digital world, the traditional form of media such as books, newspapers and magazines have been transformed into electronic media. This growing trend is consistently influencing the significant number of people to read electronic media instead of a printed one. This essay will argue that the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks by first demonstrating the convenience of portability, availability and appealing features associated with e-reading, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage, its effects on eyes can be prevented by taking precautionary measures.

The major benefit of reading electronic materials is the availability with the click of a button at minimal or no cost. One can download a wide variety of books on any topic and read it offline at one's own pace. Portability and storage is another added benefit to carry millions of books stored in handy electronic gadgets such as smartphones, tablets and laptops with the storage capacity in terabytes. Moreover, there are plenty of electronic devices available in the digital market which offers several useful features to make reading comfortable. For instance, Amazon's Kindle is a modern electronic device, which comes with several added features such as page bookmarking, integrated dictionary, user-friendly navigation from one page to another and rapid word search in the book contents and enables the reader to have printed book-like experience. Last but not least, e-reading is also eco-friendly by saving paper and contributes to protecting our planet earth.

Despite these advantages, criticizers who are reluctant to upgrade to new technology say that extreme electronic reading causes pain and strain to eyes. However, this can be avoided with the usage of anti-glare glasses while reading, which is available at a minimal price and in trendy colours. To witness this, I am a regular reader of e-books and I find it quite comfortable when use my number zero spectacles to protect my eyes and experience happy reading. Therefore, It would be unfair to outweigh this drawback over positivity.

By hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that electronic books offer a whole new range of modern features and comfort to its readers, which clearly outweighs the flawed argument of stress on eyes as it can be avoided with the usage of protection glasses.