In recent years, more and more people are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is argued that nowadays, many individuals prefer reading online books compared to reading a hardbound book. This essay will argue that despite the fact that it causes strain on eyes, which can be taken care of with modern technology. I believe having accessibility to books everywhere is an advantage which outweighs any drawback.

On the one hand, viewing books for a longer duration on electronic devices leads to an eyesight problem, but it can be resolved with modern medical facilities. In other words, an eye has to work a little harder to read texts and images displayed on a computer, smartphones, and tablets compared to reading a printed book. Moreover, we tend to blink less when we are reading on a screen this causes eyes to become dry and sore. For example, as per an article by Queen Hopkins University, 70% of adults who have vision problems are because of long hours working on electronic devices. However, I believe technology has developed E-Ink, which would reduce strain impact on the eyes.

On the other hand, web-based books can be accessed from anywhere. Students and employees can download them and read them while sitting at home or while traveling, and they are also accessible in the absence of an internet connection. For instance, I have more than 500 books download on kindle tablets, and I read three books on an alternative basis while I am traveling and the best thing is I can read any one of them at any time and anywhere without carrying them physically. I believe the convenience of having them at your disposal at every time, without a need to carry along physically is an advantage.

In conclusion, viewing screen for a very long time affects our eyes being a downside, but modern technology can help to resolve it. In my opinion, the benefit of having easy access has overshadowed all disadvantages.