Research shows that business meetings, discussions, and training are happening online nowadays. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

These days, there is an irrefutable fact that computer-based meetings and training sessions are becoming increasingly prevalent thanks to the proliferation of the Internet and the COVID-19 pandemic. This kind of assertion has certain benefits, but there will also be some drawbacks.

On the one hand, the extensive usage of online video conferencing programs in business helps reduce expenses for transit, hospitality, and meals for employees. Using a viral encounter makes unnecessary expenses can be eliminated thanks to these online programs, contributing tremendously to the companies’ reduced overhead costs. The money saved could be better spent on more important aspects such as marketing, which brings in more potential customers. Another significant benefit is that attendees who participate in a multinational corporation meeting access from anywhere, even stay in your house. An excellent example is that a Chief Executive Officer does not need any long-haul flights to see his overseas partner discuss their business development strategies, which leads to a sense of convenience and comfort.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks that people should take into consideration. The principal one is that an online business meeting process requires a reliable internet connection, which may be a hindrance as there might be failures in the flow of information. For example, not many Vietnamese people can afford a high-speed internet connection, therefore lagging connections and computer crashing can disrupt communication and misunderstanding among meeting or training participants. In addition, employees who take part in long meetings make eye strain from sitting in front of a computer screen. Although there is no evidence that eye fatigue damages your eyesight, computer users may get symptoms such as blurred vision, temporary inability to focus on faraway objects, and headaches. As a consequence, students attend many lessons continuously is bad for their health.

In conclusion, the viral meeting cloud brings about certain advantages, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.