Rich countries should allow jobs for skilled and knowledgeable employees who are from poor countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, more and more skilled professionals from developing countries immigrate to developed countries in the hope of better life, better job and better prospect. Some people consider the trend as positive for host countries and argue that wealthy nations should open their doors more widely to the competent and learned immigrant. But others, on the other hand, contend that rich countries would be engulfed by the increasing wave of these immigrants. In the case, I am of the honest opinion that the

For a start, when the well-educated, skilled migrant migrates to the host country, they bring with them the human capital. It is such a cost that the host country do not need to bear that is net advantage to the nation they come to augment. That is to say, the worth of the migrant is here not actually their lifetime income but rather the cost the host country do not need to cover as they already are educated and trained without the investment of the host country. In addition, the migrant are willing to work with low salaries compared with locals. The benefit directly goes to the consumer. To give an illustration of what I mean, let’s look at the case of firms which hire the skilled migrant mostly. These firms can provide cheaper services while maintaining same quality, which by consequence benefits to the consumer.

On the flip side, there also are several drawbacks. Employers may ignore training, innovation, and productivity when they get skilled migrants who are willing to work for relatively low pay. Besides, large numbers of skilled professional can swell the ranks of the unemployed. On the top of that, the increased population may put pressure on public service. In my opinion, however, the skilled migrant phenomenon is actually brain drain. The countries that experience brain drain suffer a great loss. The investment in tertiary education is lost as the highly educated professionals leave the homeland and become an asset to the host country.

All things considered, it seems reasonable to assume that skilled migrants are the double-edge sword as they contribute as well as become burden to some extent for the host nation, but the phenomenon severely affects the country from which the highly educated individuals leave.