With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In this era, with the development in technology the paper books is being replaced by soft books. Mostly people think it is a good trend as it helps environment and easily accessible while others believe the opposite opinion.

In one hand, firstly, publishing books online ease the accessibility of them. This means that people can download or read online books by using electronic devices such as kindle from anywhere in the world. For example, when I was traveling to London, I used kindle to download and read books on airplane rather than physically having one. Moreover, one can easily adjust the size of the writing as per his convenience by just zooming into whereas, this option is not available in paper based books. Secondly, trees are used to make papers and by reducing the publishing of books will result in cutting less trees ultimately benefiting the environment.

On the other hand, one of the major disadvantage is that by using it extensively will have bad effect on eyes that is, by looking at the screen continuously eyes will start itching that can be cater by using eye drops. Furthermore, people are using less libraries now a days and rely on the internet ultimately decreasing the interest of people in reading books. For instance, now a days, children are preferring to play online games rather than reading books resulting in reading hobbies are declining among the young generation.

In conclusion, with the development in technology, paper books are diminishing which has positive impacts on environment and easily usable. Whereas, soft books are impacting the health and reducing the reading hobbies among new generation.