With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent years, ebooks have become more popular over paper books. According to some people, the electronic version of books is less beneficial. Whereas, others believe that ebooks are more convenient over physical books.

The first advantage of digital books is attributed to its availability. Today, ebooks are easily available over the internet. By just download its required application on their cellphone, which is freely available, one can get access to those books. moreover, such applications come different features which makes it easy to use and share for anyone. For example, if a person wants to bookmark any specific page or highlight a paragraph, it can be done with just a few clicks on their device. What is more, to support these trend Indian government has created a digital library over the internet where citizens can download all government policy documents without paying any cost.

Considering the fact that it requires adequate knowledge to use a computer or phone, digital version of a book cannot be useful for those people who do not carry such knowledge. For example, as per the Times of india newspaper's recent survey, 1% of people, in india, are not aware of to operate a cellphone or computer and for those people, paper books are the only option as digital books can only be accessed with a digital instrument. moreover, such devices to read ebooks cannot be accessed without electricity. Consequently, it is not possible for a person to read books at such places where there is no electricity available.

To conclude, ebooks are more popular among the young generation because it is easy to utilize and transfer. However, for the older generation, physical books are the only option due to their lake of knowledge about operating instrument to read ebooks.