Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects,like philsophy and history and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chance of employment to what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by a few people that universities should only focus on practical subject courses, due to limited job opportunities and expensive tertiary education. I partially agree with this statement, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

To start with, in this contemporary world, as the population is on the rise, there are fewer places left for graduates. Every sector witness unemployment as there are myriad of candidates applying for a particular position. Thus, studying pragmatic subjects, such as accountancy, management or finance, is a proactive step to secure the future. To exemplify, a lot of students are motivated to pursue commerce to make sure they won't be jobless in the future as this sector is on the rise to accommodate ever-increasing candidates. In addition, certain degree's like philosophy and history have no relevancy in this technologically advanced world. These subjects are reduced to books only, can not be applied to the real world.

In contrast, although the pragmatic degree course provides benefits in the near future, arts courses can help in a better decision in life. Philosophy renders better analytical skills which help a person to take the right steps before commencing. Likewise, history teaches us about our previous generation, such as work patterns and their modification throughout the decades. Moreover, these subjects improve writing skills to further increase the chance of acquiring the job. For example, lots of companies hire people on the basis of their analytical and language ability to communicate better and taking the right decision in given circumstances.

To conclude, while practical degrees are relevant to future requirements, learning arts enhances interpersonal skills. Both subjects are crucial