road safety

People have different views on how to minimise road accidents. While some argue that punishment plays an important role, in my opinion, other solutions could be implemented concomitantly to promote the safe driving practice.

On the one hand, strict fines greatly contribute to deterring dangerous behaviours behind the steering wheel. They can be licence suspension or revocation or even criminal convictions for recidivists. Those penalties aim to alert reckless drivers that their hazardous actions such as over-speeding or tailgating lead to severe repercussions. As a result, people are likely more disciplined and strictly follow road rules and regulations, thus reducing the probability and severity of car accidents. For example, the number of traffic accidents in Canada is substantially lower than that of Vietnam as the former applies more drastic punishments against any infringement of its road codes.

On the other hand, I believe that governments should have recourse to other approaches to enhance safe driving. Firstly, a longer training period at driving schools together with extensive driving practice and more challenging driving tests oblige learners to obtain sufficient skills and knowledge before manoeuvring their vehicles on roads. Secondly, it is necessary to set up intuitive road signs and instruction panels which help drivers to commute appropriately. Thirdly, a greater emphasis should be put on public transport so that it renders more convenient and user-friendly. The fewer private vehicles are present on roads, the fewer traffic accidents there are.

In short, while strict punishments can reduce traffic accidents, I give my vote to the argument that other safety measures are also effective.