TPO 25 - Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Young people nowadays do not give enough time to helping their communities.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People make different arguments on the contribution of young people to their communities. In my opinion, I completely agree with the statement that little time out of youngsters´ schedule is set to dedicate to communities´ benefits. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First and foremost, juveniles do not actively engage in public activities due to the fact that they have to work hard to make ends meet. People have to focus their time and energy on working longer hours at their office to compensate for the rising cost of living and heavy competition in the labor market especially in big metropolitan areas. For some fresh graduates, they are even forced to do extra jobs during the night so that they earn enough cash to pay for their basic needs like accommodation and food. As a result, little time is left for supporting their communities. My own experience is a compelling example. I am living in Madrid which is an expensive city. Therefore, I have to do an extra job of three hours every weekday in addition to my regular insurance work so as to I can afford the monthly rent of my apartment. Hence, I take part in any social activities occurring in my district once in a blue moon.

Secondly, teenagers prefer spending their time on entertainment activities like playing video games, surfing the internet to helping their communities. There is now an array of addicting activities on the internet that grips great attention of adolescents. Consequently, they are indifferent to other more useful actions. My cousin´s experience exemplifies this idea. He is obsessed with writing posts on Facebook and spends most of the time during the day to read and give comments on his friend´s virtual pages. As such, he does not take care of anything else happening around him.

In conclusion, various factors are to blame for the fact that adolescents do not dedicate adequate time to helping the county they are living in. Two of which are that they are too busy making their living and that they are reluctant to donate their time.