Sample topic: When a country develops its technology, the traditional skills and ways of life die out. It is pointless to try and keep them alive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Life is impermanent, so everything is changing in each and every moment, and so do traditional skills. While many believe it will disappear in the digital revolution, I would deem that our ancestor’s cultural wisdom still manifests in its new form.

To begin with, that is true to some extent that ancestral methods are gradually rarer in the modern world. That is because the youngster might not be able to make the food with the cultural recipes due to the development of instantaneous technology. For example, they can order a meal to their bed within a click on a so-called smartphone or quickly feel better from a fever by using painkillers instead of traditional herbs. The old way to experience and enjoy life thus seems to be outdated for the Millenials.

People disapproved of this, however, should not have obsessed too much because something can not go to nothing, and vice versa. There is only a transformation with its possibility. For instance, agricultural technology helps society yield more productive crops with the best taste all year round, which is based on ancestral wisdom. And the way we cook with the same traditional recipe now is much more efficient instead of time-consuming compared to the ancient techniques. And hence, the old skills did not disappear. People may need to look into things, and they will see our ancestors’ thinking and habit is still alive within us in the daily basis, such as the way we drive, work, eat and drink. Paradoxically, they are the manifestation of a new form carried out by their children.

The question should have had more clarity about whether or not our current generation is different from our ancestors. To answer this, I believe they are no different, and they are not the same. Everything is interbeing and interpenetration. This is because that is, and that is because that is. In us, there is tradition; and vice versa, there are changing moments within tradition toward the future.