School are spending more time teaching subjects such as history. Some people think they should rather spend more time in teaching skills that can help students find a job. To what extend do you agree and disagree.

Putting more emphasis on learning mainstream subjects is the traditional method incorporated into a school curriculum, whereas another view suggests focusing on teaching soft skills that can help students search a job quickly. Personally, I believe that knowledge of core subjects and other skill sets are equally important in the process of searching a job opportunity and hence, it is recommended to have equal time distribution for both.

Learning core subjects such as history create a platform for students to know numerous aspects of past life. Students are made aware of historical events and decisions made in particular circumstances by famous personalities. Knowing these facts together help the young to relate the impact of activities occurred in past on our present and to analyze what went wrong and how things could have been made better. As a result, students are in a better position to take decision or action under a known situation from such learning.

On the other hand, skills such as interpersonal, presentation, managerial and leadership play a vital role while interacting with others and creating a positive impression during a job interview process. One of the biggest thing students develop by learning these skills is self-confidence, which is the best quality one can have to win any deal. In other words, gaining skills help us in climbing the ladder of a shining professional career.

I believe, in today's fiercely competitive world, there is need to enhance special skills as qualification alone won't help students to excel. Successful education, that includes inculcating long-term skills as well as teaching other subjects, is making students capable to get a job the day they are out of the universities.

In conclusion, holistic learning is the need of the hour in our present educational system and students must be taught mainstream subjects along with other skills that can help them search a job as per their interest.