School teachers are more responsible for the social and intellectual development of students than parents.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that it is one of school teachers’ responsibilities is to develop their students socially and mentally, rather than parents. I agree to some extent that this role is one of the most important missions that teachers have to accomplish; however, I would argue that parents still have even a small part in improving their children’s skills and abilities.

Firstly, with regard to the social skills, teachers can greatly influence their students in the social aspect. This is because teachers are usually capable of pushing them towards working together, interacting and co-operating in classes. Take group projects, such as a presentation or a play, as an example, students usually work together in teams to finish their research in a perfect way, and be able to get the best marks. As a result of this type of a healthy co-operating working atmosphere, students will probably strengthen their relations with their schoolmates and might make new friends at the end.

Secondly, as for the mental capabilities, teachers nowadays contribute with a high proportion to form students’ intellectual skills. The reason for this is that teachers at schools are using new techniques in teaching children school subjects. For instance, a newly-applied school system is called Montessori system, which is a new approach of teaching using illustration cards, puzzles, pictures, and mental practices. By using these methods and by making contests, quizzes, and other ways of competition, they can motivate students and boost their mental skills.

Finally, I hold the notion that parents at home still have a minor role in improving and helping their children to become better in all aspects. This could be by supporting their children at home in taking small decisions related to study for example. As a consequence, parents can in return raise their children self-confidence. This can be by supporting children especially at family gathering.

If parents were able to play this role in a perfect way, they could help in enhancing their children’s abilities.

In conclusion, I believe that teachers and parents roles are integrative, which means that co-operating together in raising healthier generation is inevitable.