Science tells us about the activities which are good for our health and others which are bad. Millions of people all over the world knows this and still do unhealthy activities. Why do you think this is and what can be done to change it?

We are fortunate to live in the scientific era which has witnessed unprecedented breakthroughs in healthcare. In addition, we have access to whole host of information on healthy lifestyles. Despite the awareness on ill-effects of unhealthy habits, many individuals tend to inculcate them. In the following paragraphs, I intend to delve into the reasons for this trend and the measures that can address this issue.

To begin with, through the years, people have developed proclivity for ready-made and artificial foods which are packed with artificial sweeteners and preservatives. Another common addiction that is observed is towards cigarette smoking and alcohol consumption. A survey conducted by World Health Organization, famously referred as WHO, reveals that an appalling 70 percent of youth in America are either chain smokers or alcohol consumers. This behavior can be attributed to the stimulants that go into the preparation of the artificial snacks and aerated drinks as well as the tobacco and nicotine in the cigarettes and alcoholic beverages, that lure people to consume them.

Another reason is,owing to the busyness in personal and professional life, people disregard physical burnout to a great extent. Although, it is widely known that physical fitness has remarkable benefits, many individuals find it arduous and feel lethargic to hit the gymnasium for regular exercise.

To mitigate the impacts, firstly, there is a dire need to to increase the price of tobacco and alcoholic products.Secondly, stringent action should be taken against the manufacturers who adulterate eatables. Thirdly, global level awareness campaigns should be conducted to promulgate the prominence of physical exercise.

To encapsulate, there are innumerable causes that encourage people to follow detrimental habits even after being abreast with the healthy recommendations from scientific researches. Intake of adulterated foods, smoking tobacco, excessive alcohol consumption are few to quote. To attenuate these problems, it is the need of the hour to implement productive measures.