Scientific research should be the responsibility of governments rather than commercial organizations. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is generally considered the research and development of scientific field is the area in which states should play the major role and private companies has not part in this stream. I completely agree with notion that authorities has to take the accountability of the scientific investigation and advancements and no freedom should be given to commercial firm to spread their wings in this domain.

To begin with, it requires huge amount of time to study deeply about any particular field, private companies mainly aim to earn profit, so the task which takes more time usually avoided by them. Most of the researches are mainly trying to find something for the betterment of the society and cause social development, which undoubtedly needs government intervention. To exemplify, public university in India take the help of PHG students to work on internship along with studies as research associates, whereas it is cumbersome for any commercial organization to recruit the employee at that salary. Moreover, university students spend almost five years to the get the knowledge of the subject in-depth so that can perform much better for making further advancement in the particular field.

Digging deeper, many resources are essential for conducting any research successfully like monetary support, space and equipment. Although after getting all the elements it is not guaranteed that it will be successful. Companies cannot effort to invest money on the segment where return is not guaranteed, but government can have the separate budget for the research and development, those fund can be freely use for conducting different experiments, furthermore, help of various nations can also be availed. Apart from this, if private organizations succeed in getting any new finding they will charge heavily to supply it in market and ultimately it will not be afforded by many people. Hence, fulfillment of vital requirement to conduct research can be done by state only.

In conclusion, unequivocally companies can carry out research, but if we want to conduct the scientific advancement in meaningful way then this responsibility is to be put on the shoulder of the government, then only society will get the benefit and progression can be carried out in ideal way.