Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is becoming increasingly common to hear that linguistics have been predicted that people will be enthusiastic in talking with a unique language in near future. From my perspective, this notion has both its merits and demerits.

An obvious argument in its favor is that it brings peace and stability for the world. The first and for the most, it makes borders will be dull and meaningless. Indeed, languages play a significant role in drawing distinction between nations. But these differences will be less if all people speak in same language. According to historical evidences, there were some unprovoked war due to dispute for differences between languages. Besides, speaking in one language stimulants sense of equality between nations and it definitely averts war.

On the flip side, language would be secluded if they didn’t use by communities. To dig a little deeper, languages have evolved over thousands of years. Moreover, they are icons of nation’s heritage. But not using of them will lead to their forgetfulness day in, day out. So that the next generations would not be familiar with their ancestor’s indigenous language. For instance, there were a lot of linguistics that had made a lot of efforts to uphold the Persian language. Unfortunately, by penetrating foreign languages such as English, French and German, their efforts were in vain and some elegant and valuable Persian words has been forgotten and are not using by youth.

In conclusion, using a unique language in world has various benefits but it has also some drawbacks that should be considered.