Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future.Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Rise of technology and the new techniques of communication have brought the world together and made people think world as a whole. With concept of globalization, global language is developing so that person from any country can communicate with the person from another country. It is a positive development. Yet, it has some repercussions. In this essay, I am going to discuss both view points.

To begin with, global language will bring the people closer. Hence, will promote peace and harmony. Moreover, it also helps in the fusion of different cultures. Secondly, it will help in the discussion of global problems such as pollution, global warming and other such problems and also help in propagating the awareness regarding it.

On the flip side, global language is the threat to the local languages. A recent study of harvard university stated that almost 150 languages become extinct every year. Most of these languages are the language of tribal people who have given up there language after learning english as they no longer feel the need of their mother tongue. Similar cases have been experienced in south asian countries as well. It is a great loss in terms of culture and heritage as their ancient text no longer remain readable.

In conclusion, we have to adopt a global language to break the barrier for communication but there is also need to preserve the mother tongue so that we can continue the legacy left to us by our ancestors.