Shopping is now a common leisure activity for youths in many countries

Why is this the case

Is this a positive development

Recently, in numerous nations, shopping has become a popular free-time activity for youths. This is due to the problem of peer pressure among them. However, this development has been positively affecting money flow and business in the country; hence, it is being considered to be good

I believe shopping rate has been increasing among young adults because of pressure among them. Owing to the fact that youths often pressurize each other with fashionable wears and electronic gadgets that they purchase at stores, they always get influenced to compete. A good example is the case of most youths who imitate online friends and followers who post their new iPhones or fabrics that was purchased at Shoprite mall in Nigeria. So, the items may not necessarily be important for the youths, yet they do shopping to oftentimes mainly to live up to expectations

Fortunately however, the rising shopping trend among young generation is beneficial to the financial market. Since more and more youths have been purchasing items, neither has money been hoarded at home nor fixed in term deposit accounts where it may be redundant. Instead, it is being spent. Evidently, the Financial Times newspaper recently reported that there has been increase of about 500 million naira spent since 2018 when shopping rate began to rise. With this ascending financial record, not only will money be circulating in the country, but also will businesses be growing

In conclusion, shopping is now a preferred leisure activity among youths as a result of competition. Due to this increased trend, money flow is more consistent than ever, and business is booming. If this development is encouraged, then there may be more growth in the country