Some people think that all University students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should be only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology

Discuss both views and give your opinion

The problem of shortage of scientists has sparked a heated argument about whether tertiary institutions' students should be restricted to major in only science and technology related subjects or courses of their own choices. In my opinion, I think the students should be allowed to exercise their freedom and, therefore, venture into their areas of interests.

On the one hand, in order to have abundant scientists who might proffer practical solutions to the current mysteries of the world, some people believe that just scientific courses should be studied in the universities. Proponents of this view believe that if the universities do not produce as many science graduates as possible, there might be a universal shutdown due to the likely environmental catastrophes. Although they may be correct, do they really consider that each individual has unique strength ? Perhaps they think every knowledge and skill can be acquired and developed respectively through tertiary education, which is incorrect.

On the other hand, with regards to freedom of choice, I believe students will be relevant to the society if they are permitted to select their preferred course. This is because, since their interest lie entirely in what they willingly practice, they tend to be more successful. In fact, unlike those who forcefully studied a science subject, majority of successful professionals attain high-level career largely due to their passion for the profession. In other words, passion facilitates assimilation of ideas in school, which in turn might yield positive result, otherwise, all efforts and purpose will be wasted

To conclude, despite the fact that the potential science students may be of significant value in the future, the tendency that many other students may not develop interest in the course is high. That is to say, they may have higher probability of success in their areas of Interests. Therefore, I think higher institution students should be allowed to study whatever course they admire.