Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongst all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks.Do you think that the advantages of social media outweigh the disadvantages?

With increasing technological advancement, usage of internet has become a mandatory need. With internet connectivity, social media is very popular among people of all age group, either it be school going kids or retired people. Some people are even not able to make a difference between the content they are posting on social platforms. Everything has its own pro and cons which has its impact on society at macro level. We will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of social media in depth and will also evaluate if advantages outweigh disadvantages.

Social media is a powerful source with the help of which information can be delivered to huge public with the help of one post. Nowadays, with the help of social media various causes are tapped and awareness is created. We have seen various videos related to women empowerment, domestic violence, Child abuse etc on Facebook, twitter and these videos had created a great impact on our mind and have created value. Companies are also advertising their products on social media by linking it to a cause and all the age groups are active on social media and target market can be easily segmented. Social media helps us to stay connected with friends and also help us to stay tuned to updates happening around.

Social media is a harmful platform as well. People are posting lavish photos with luxury backgrounds on Facebook, Instagram just to show off. Various fake ids are also created on Facebook with same photos as the actual once. Social media is used by registering complaints via twitter, various customers are misusing this to shed money from companies as a complaint on social media has a direct impact on the brand image of the company. Stalkers stalk various profile on facebook according to the information posted on profile and then it results in kidnapping, harassing or love friendships.

Most Teenagers post all track of their location via check-ins, due to which there every follower on social media is aware about there whereabouts and it is very dangerous.

To Recapitulate, Social media is a great source of information and can help various lives. However, extra cautions are to be taken while posting information on social media, or according to sensitivity of information, it can be set as private or only friends rather than public. According to me advantages of social media are way more than disadvantages. Various sessions can be added as part of school curriculum to guide students about pros and cons of social media so they can be careful while hitting enter for posting information.