employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. some people say that this information may be relevant and useful. others disagree

Nowadays, the recruitment process is changing. The recruitment process was earlier limited to the job profile, as part of the job no additional questions were asked. When we hear about interviews today, they are much broader in scope. Before hiring a person onboard, companies try to extract required personal information.

Well, some people say that questions like hobbies, interests and marital status should not be asked as there are not relevant. Before hiring an employee, the employer wants to know the thought process of the person as interests of a person gives an idea to the employer. Sometimes, such questions are asked by the employer to make the interview feel comfortable through the interview process. Some employers, also have predecided mindsets regarding marital status, they think that if a person is married or about to get married then he/she might be looking for job stability.

Earlier people used to hesitate while sharing such information, but nowadays this has become part of the hiring process in various organizations. People are also adopting this process and they have also become responsive. But again, questions should be asked in such a manner that person should not feel offended. For example- while interviewing a married woman if the interviewer asks her about her pregnancy plans then this is a very personal thing. The candidate might not be comfortable in sharing this so such question should be taken care off.

To conclude, I would say that asking personal information is not irrelevant but it is important that only relevant information should be asked.