Social media has many positive uses, but there have been some negative consequences to it as well. Identify a problem caused by social media and describe the solutions you would propose to address this problem.

In this age of information and communication, social media is indispensable to life. Social media which originally created to serve as a connection platform between people, has further developed into a multi-function platform. One of the addition role of those platforms is as an information provider, current events, commentaries, fashion, lifestyle and technology etc, all sort of ideas you want could be found on social media platform which even perform better than those tradition information providers, newspapers and radios.

Another amazing function of social media platform makes it becomes dominant channel for idea sharing, it is the “like” giving mechanism. This mechanism not only allow users to easily express themselves, simply click the like or dislike button, but also spread your view within your network. User can further share the link which they like, agree and believe.

With the numerous advantage, it goes without saying that social media conquer everyone’s daily live in just a short period. However, social media is a two-blade sword, it also has dark sides. Social media aggravate the degree of information explosion. The easy “like and share” function encourage users to share all they get from the platform, even they actually not read the content. This behaviour breeds clickbait and content farm media, leads to a rocket rise of incorrect and even fake information circulate in the platforms. The huge amount of materials show up in the platform every day, no one could have enough time and energy to verify every single passage but customarily forward by an inadvertent fingertip movement. The ease of information flow and sharing become the accomplice of spreading rumours, result of Brexit vote in UK is the well-known victim.

Although we cannot eliminate fake information appears in social media but we can stop its spread. The best way is to adjust our behaviour on using social media: do fact check before you give a like or forward to a message. Furthermore, there is mechanism to report incorrect or misleading message in all social media platform, wisely use this function could help to build up a healthy and positive environment for information flow. In conclusion, social media bears fruitful development in connecting people all over the world but we should alert the risk of disseminate lies.