Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Many countries around the globe have begun to use solar power for domestic purpose because it is the most abundant renewable resource of energy. Although, solar energy is eco-friendly and inexhaustible, it does have a few drawbacks such as costly equipment and space needed for solar plant installation.

The increasing popularity of solar energy can be attributed to the fact that it does not cause any negative impact on the environment like other sources of energy production. Moreover, natural resources like tar, patrol and coal are limited and cannot meet the increasing demand for the energy. Consequently, scientists all over the world are researching for alternative sources of energy.

First and foremost benefit of solar power is its abundant availability. In other words, sun is a natural source of heat and hence there is no danger of depletion, where as other sources of energy are already diminishing. For instance, in a recent study published in Times News, it is observed that more than 85% of non-renewable sources of energy have been exhausted and carbon foot-print of these sources of power production is way high than expected.

In spite of that solar energy has its own limitations which restrict its widespread usage. The major drawback is that solar panels used to extract solar energy are very expensive and cannot be afforded by people with low income. Also the installation of these panels need quite a huge amount of space and hence many people are reluctant to use them. For example, in India, government is promoting solar plants but many people are reluctant for installation due to cost and space related problems.

To conclude, solar is becoming more and more popular as a source of energy because it is abundant and nature friendly. However, due to its high installation cost and space required, people are restricted to shift towards solar energy.