Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Majority of nations around the world have started using solar power for domestic purpose because it is an abundant source of renewable energy. Although, solar energy is eco-friendly and inexhaustible yet it does have some limitations which would be thoroughly discussed in this monograph along with its benefits and reasons of using it.

The popularity of solar power can be attributed to the factor that it does not create global warming which fossil fuels like petrol and coal do. Apart from that, non renewable sources are not able to fulfill the upsurging demand of energy of the world as they are already on the verge of exhaustion. consequently, being aware of these facts many countries have started producing energy through alternatives sources like wind and sun.

There are multifarious merits of using solar power. As stated above, the most predominant one is its abundance in nature, especially in tropical countries. To decipher it, sun is the most common source of heat which is into existence from million of years and will be for unlimited time. Therefore, there is no danger of depletion, whereas, others are already draining. In addition to this, owing to that fact that there is no involvement of combustion of fuels in generating power through renewable sources, no pollution released in atmosphere and hence no global warming.

Nevertheless, there are some limitations of solar power which restrict its world-spread usage. Primarily, it is an expensive source for low income group. In other words, the panels used to produce power through sun are costly, and hence are not affordable by many. Moreover, these panels are huge in size and occupy a lot of space. Due to which many are reluctant to use them. Another rational that hauls me to this notion is, it is solely depend on sun, hence subtropical and temperate area where there is winter most of the months in year, cannot rely on it completely.

To recapitulate, undoubtedly, popularity of solar energy is increasing day by day because it is benefits such as it is clean and green and plentiful. However, its limitations are restricting its worldwide usage.