Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Since the revolution of using different energy sources, solar power has emerged as the biggest invention in terms of saving energy that inexhaustible & is ecofriendly as well. While there are enormous advantages of solar energy usage there are demerits intact to it as well.

One of the biggest advantages of solar energy is that it is not limited to use. Sun shines bright in the sky & has limitless power that can be used by human beings if properly utilized. To elucidate further, other energy consumptions create pollution & are limited to use, whereas using solar power there is no fear of pollution & hence it takes care of global warming as well.

With the use of solar energy we can cut down expenses of using petrol & CNG which will resultantly reduce pollution. Also fuel prices are inflammatory & with the use of solar power we can control the monopoly of fuel agencies.

Everything has some disadvantages as well & so does solar energy have. One major factor is that it is expensive to use, not affordable to middle class families. Furthermore, its panels are big enough to install that people are reluctant to use them. Another factor that is a hindrance to use this revolution is that, this energy can only be utilized when sun is shining. In many parts of the world this cannot be used since most of the time of year there is no sun in those areas, hence they cannot be benefitted from this.

In a nutshell, solar power is a natural energy that if appropriately utilized, can be beneficial for masses, yet it has some disadvantages that cannot be overlooked