Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Solar power has tremendously become popular around the globe not only as a source of household energy but also many other ways. This essay will discuss both the benefits and drawbacks of solar energy.

Firstly, the most important thing is that solar energy is truly a renewable energy resource. It will be accessible as long as we have the Sun, therefore sunlight will be available to us for at least five billion years according to the scientists. Furthermore, it reduces the usage of fossil fuels to generate electricity. Solar energy can also be used to generate electricity in areas without access to the energy grid, to distill water in regions with limited clean water supplies and to power satellites in space. Technology is rapidly increasing in the solar power industry and improvements will intensify in the future. Innovations in nanotechnology and quantum physics can potentially increase the effectiveness of solar panels double or triple in the coming future.

Secondly, The cost relating to the purchase of solar panels is fairly high. Moreover, solar panels require a lot of space to produce more electricity. For instance, there might be some roofs which are not big enough to accommodate a large number of solar panels. Although solar energy can still be collected during cloudy and rainy days, the efficiency of the solar system drops. Similarly, the solar energy cannot be collected during the night.

In conclusion, due to the advancement in technology, there is a vast development in the solar power industry. However, there are few demerits such as cost, space and also weather dependent source.