Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

Role of media cannot be ignored in this age of technology where you can get any news from any corner of the world in just a click. There are multiple channels of getting a news which includes but not limited to TV, Newspapers, Online websites etc. and a lot of people often rely on their preferred medium of information they trust the most.

In any of the aforementioned mediums, core responsibilities lies with the editor of news who picks up a good package to be presented to people in TV or newspapers. There are certain criteria which are used to decide which news to be published or broadcasted on TV and newspapers. In this essay, will try to enlist and discuss few of these factors in detail for understanding of the readers.

• Reach to masses

First of all, one of the main reasons of putting a news on TV and Newspaper is reach of these mediums along with the cost effectiveness. Now a days, you can find a TV in any other house and same is the case with newspaper. So it is east to bring your products and ideas to maximum number of people at the same time with less efforts include in it.

• Channel viewers liking/disliking

Choosing a news to be broadcast is based on its impact on people, for example, if the news is about a celebrity or a political/business figure, it will have an impact on large number of viewers. In this case, we can quote the example of princes Diana where whole media was focusing on her accident and people sit in front of their TV sets to get updated with every passing minute.

• Interest of people of different age groups

Another factor is interest of different age groups in these mediums. You can clearly distinguish that TV focuses more on entertainment programs whereas newspapers is more about getting detailed information about the issues. Basic reason behind this is the consideration of age groups that prefer the medium on which program is broadcasted or published. Cartoons is another example which are common on TV, even we got separate channels for kids as it catch their attention and reading an article is more time taking and at times get boring too.

Do we become used to bad news?

One thing that is becoming evident in current era is all these mediums are more focused on spreading bad news as it gets attention more quickly. For example, if media is putting a news against a known political figure, you will see all the world making hues and cries. In recent past, when there was a cold war going on between US and Korea, all the channels were busy exaggerating normal statements from each side which further created tension between both countries. We were on the verge of a world war and media played a vital role in it. On the contrary, this can be handled in a more positive way by not putting each and every statement to avoid the tension between leaders.

In this busy life, where people do not have ample time to relax and spend with family, they did not like to see news which further tense them. You can look around to figure out that a big number of population is suffering from different diseases including hyper tension and blood pressure. One main reason is receiving negative news from all the sources.

Role of media should be enhanced in this regard and people responsible in every media industry must play a vital role in creating a healthy society. It is as simple as ABC by focusing more on the constructive topics and highlighting every single information that has a positive impact on the image of country.