In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.

What is your opinion on this?

Recently in certain parts of the US, adolescents are strictly forbidden hanging out without the supervision of at least one of their parents or other legal guardians. This kind of restriction, which is gaining enhancing support, is so-called ‘curfew’. From my perspective, this practice is reasonable and there are several compelling reasons why the teenagers must be accompanied by an adult rather than only conducting outdoor activities late at night all by themselves.

First and foremost, from the perspective of road traffic safety, there are indisputable benefits which result from this action. By stating this, I mean that those youngsters who are free to have fun outdoor might get seriously injured or even killed due to the exceed-speed driving or drunk driving in the late evening. Apart from the factors of dangerous driving actions, children sometimes may be too happy to forget paying attention to the road conditions. Under these circumstances, the chances are that they could easily get hurt by falling down or having ankle twisted. If merely one adult was present and providing the safety guard for them, it would have been less likely to be involved in a car accident or an accidental injury.

Furthermore, when it comes to considering the violent actions which are more likely to happen at night, the advantages of ‘curfew’ would not be overlooked. The serious crime, such as robberies, murders, as well as kidnappings could be committed without any obstacles when there is no adult on the spot since the adolescent are not capable of coping this situation in terms of mental and physical abilities.

Having examined the arguments in detail, I am convinced that the restriction alike should be applied when taking the factors of road safety and unexpected unlawful behaviors into consideration.