In some area of the US, a ‘curfew’ is imposed, in which teenagers are not allowed to be out of doors after a particular time at night unless they are accompanied by an adult.What is your opinion on this?

In certain parts of the United States, teenagers cannot go out after a particular hour of the night without the supervision of an adult. In my opinion, this is justified because adolescents are too young to keep themselves safe and secure at all times.

Keeping teenagers confined to their homes during the late hours of the night is beneficial for them. If they go out alone during this time, they are more likely to come into contact with criminals and pedophiles. For example, the drug mafia target new ‘customers’ under the cover of darkness. If teenagers are out alone they are more likely to fall into such traps without realizing the consequences of their actions. They may start using drugs out of curiosity and eventually become addicts. Sexual predators also target children and teenagers who are alone at night. Young people cannot distinguish between good and bad relationships and may land themselves in trouble by befriending such people. Such situations will not arise if they spend the night.

On the other hand, if teenagers are accompanied by an adult, they are less likely to be approached by criminals. This protects them from many evils. Also, the parent or guardian who accompanies the children can keep a tab on their activities and warn them when they cross the limits.

In conclusion, this ‘curfew’ that prevents teens from going out of their home alone at late night is beneficial for them and protects them from crime and bad company. Since teenagers are too young to understand what is right or wrong, they need the care and protection of an adult when they are in vulnerable circumstances.