Some believe museums should entertain people, while others believe their purpose is to educate. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Museums often represent different things to different people. On the one hand, many people feel a museum’s primary purpose is to entertain. However, others feel they function to spread understanding. The merits of both arguments will be analyzed before a conclusion is decided upon.

Firstly, some argue a museum’s main purpose is to amuse. For example, the Science and Technology Museum in Ottawa minimizes the written descriptions normally found next to exhibits in an effort to provide visitors with a demonstrational experience to illustrate a scientific or historical point. Although this setup leaves their museum visitors stimulated, it does little to provide them with a deeper understanding of the scientific, historical or cultural topics the museum houses. Thus, the merits of this opinion are hard to support.

However, many other people see museums as powerful educational resources. For example, the British Museum in London, England is arranged to provide its visitors with a very informed look at the roots of humanity. Patrons leave this museum with a much richer understanding of historical topics, and this understanding is something they can apply to their everyday endeavors. Thus, the heightened benefits of this opinion regarding the role of museums can clearly be seen.

After looking at these two opposing points of view, it is felt that museums better serve the public when they are established to educate as opposed to entertain. Thus, it is hoped that the museums of the future are arranged primarily for this purpose.