Some believe the primary purpose of museums is to entertain people, while

others believe their purpose is to educate. Discuss both views and give your

own opinion.

The artefacts preserved in the museum create curiosity in people. Many people argue the prime purpose of this preservation is to entertain the people, whereas others believe this collection is to educate the public. This essay will discuss both views before the declaration of a position.

To begin with, some people entertain when they observe antique pieces. For example, numerous working people can be seen in the museum on holidays. Harvard University researched why employees feel entertained and refreshed in visiting the museum. Indeed, people feel refreshed when their minds are occupied by the subject matter which is other than the content they are usually busy with. This is the conclusion reached by Harvard University why employees received entertainment in visiting the museum.

However, it is noteworthy to mention that the prime purpose of the museum is to disseminate the values to the public that ancient items have. The policy that many governments are charging minimum or free tickets for museum-visitors is to motivate people to visit museums. These visits provide people opportunities to learn the values of things that the museum displays. Meanwhile, the tickets to watch games, movies, clubs comparatively cost a very high amount. This fact supports that museums are for educational purposes.

Although one can be entertained while observing the antique collection of the museum, the main purpose of displays of the museum is to educate the public. Those educational contents which entertain as well are easily perceivable by the public; therefore, I believe learning about the ancient items visiting the museums should be encouraged.