In some cities and towns all over the world, the high volume of traffic is a problem.

What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to solve this problem?

At present, personal transport plays an important in communities. However, the flow of vehicles can be unsatisfactory due to frequent congestions. This essay will consider the cause of this difficulty and suggest possible solutions.

Let us start with reasons for the high load of transport routes in cities. The first cause is that highways often have a poor design. Cities are initially constructed for a limited population, but over time the number of citizens exceeds the norms, which leads to an overflow of cars on the roads. Another reason is that automobiles are affordable for people. In some urban areas, where the number of inhabitants never grows, families tend to possess more than one car, because vehicles are cheap, and the tax on their usage is low, which also exacerbate the situation with traffic. Furthermore, the current public transport is insufficient in number. In many big cities, the number of buses, which has already surpassed the maximum, cannot deal with a growing flow of passengers.

However, the authorities can tackle traffic congestions by the following measures. Firstly, the city authorities should redesign main roads. Drivers would experience a better flow of traffic, if both road architects and engineers would either widened the narrow streets or made some roads one-way. Secondly, the state should raise car taxes. The wish to buy another car would decrease in society, as soon as the government increased the taxation on exploiting cars. Moreover, it should develop other modes of public transport. Apart from buses, city councils can both establish highways or promote cycling, which would cut the volume of cars at the rush hours.

In conclusion, there are many causes of overly intensive traffic in urban regions, but it is possible to deal with them by taking the above mentioned steps by the government.