Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. To what extent do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays goverment has introduced vehicle-free days to lead people to use public transportation services. In my opinion, it is a effective policy provided that there is edequient infrastructure inplace to allow the city population to move around the city. In this essay, both the sides will be discussed and concluded.

Mostly people prefer using personal motor vehicle to travel as it is quite convenient as compared to common transportation. Owned motor-vehicles give the freedom to move around as per the wish of the owner and could save time while commuting via common mode would be inconvienent and time consuming.

Moreover, to support such policies, the city should have supporting infrastructure to manage the transit of the areas population, if not this could result in huge que of commuters, crowded buses and metro. Subsiquently leaving the commuters frustated.

On the other hand, travelling by public transportation will result in fewer motor vehicles on street, which means less fossil powered motors emmiting poisionous gase in the enviroment, in return this will help in conserving environment. And a clean environment will lead to better health of citizens.

Also by adhering to the vehicle-free day, people will face mininal traffic conjunction as there are no private vehicles on the road. Eventually this might motivated citizens to use city buses, shared taxi and metro services.

only then such law will be benificial to the city as well as the residents of it.

To summarise, In my view, the merits of vehivle-free day can overshadow the demerits only if, the city has significant transportation sytem in place to transport a huge numbers of commuters.