Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all times Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion

Wearing uniforms every day for some companies show the unity of those companies, being the benefit from wearing those. However, this restricts the labors choice of clothing, being the disadvantage.

Initially, one way to see compact companies is seing employees wearing company’ uniforms, showing the image to the public that those companies care about workers. This is because there are no differences between the highest and lowest positions, leading to all workers can feel the closeness between them. For example, OT company provides batik uniforms for 250 employees in every region in Indonesia, and this represents in the eyes of the public that the company has a spirit of nationalism, being to attract people's attention to buy their products. Nonetheless, I believe that freedom of clothing has been stripped of the company, reducing the workers’ knowledge of fashion.

On the other hand, limitation in work clothes makes employees feel bored, making them unsuitable and not colorful enough in their fashionable because they are forced the companies to wear the same color and style every time. For instance, a study from UI stated that if in companies have a mandatory uniform policy, this will have an impact on staffs who are depressed, and they are more likely to leave their jobs. Therefore, I believe that it is the best for the welfare of the workforce to let individuals choose their own clothing as long as it conforms to the company's dress code of conduct.

In conclusion, one of the advantages of wearing a uniform at all times is to show the unity of the company, while this limits the clothing choices of workers. Can the companies provide only certain days of wearing work clothes?