Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while other think
there are disadvantages to this.
Discuss both sides and give your opinion.
Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.
People are divided between the opinion that whether companies sponsoring sports as a mean of advertisment is beneficial
or not. In my opinion, advertisement of products through sports has more disadvantages.
To begin with, sponsorship of sports is beneficial at certain level. Young children with a keen interest in any specific
sport is unable to showcase their skills to attract the eye of selectors in order to get selected for national team.
When companies sponsor sports at school or college level, students get a chance to play in competition at inter college
or inter school level and have a higher probability to catch eye of selectors. Sponsorship generates revenue for the
sports and allows to bear the expenses of arranging tournaments among different schools or colleges, which is not possible
from institution funding as it is limited. For example, Hassan Raza (pakistan cricketer) got the eye of a selector
while playing at college level. He got the chance to play for Pakistan team at international level at the age of 16
which is still the record for any player to play at international level.
On the other hand, there are more commercial aspects of sponsorship which have negative effects. Many sports personalities
have huge fan following and these fans adopt their attributes without thinking about its effect especially young children.
Companies use the fame of the famous sportsmen to sell their products, who are enticed by handsome amount of money,
in fact they earn much more by advertisements than their salaries. Therefore to earn more money sportsmen agree to
advertise for any company and sometimes become their brand ambassador. Sometimes the product of these companies is
harmful for the health of people. For instance, advertisements showing the intake of carbonated drinks after sports.
In conclusion,sponsorship of sports for commercial purposes has more detrimental effects than positive