Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Sports of a late is ranking highly on popularity charts A few multinational companies sponsor major sports events in order to advertise their products. Some people have positive opinion about this, while others believe that there are certain downsides to this. In my opinion, when multinational companies sponsor sporting events, it is advantageous for their products as well as the sports.

When big companies sponsor sports events, both the parties benefit. Sports events are promoted and people will be motivated to participate in various sports activities. In addition to this, talented youngsters may get inspired by the fame and money that accomplished players get and will want to pursue a career in sports. By showing their advertisements during these events, even the companies which sponsor them can reach more consumers. Thus organizations would certainly be profited. Many firms such as Airtel, Idea and Pepsi funded many sports competitions and this enhanced their publicity, which in turn is crucial for meeting their sales targets. What is the harm in sponsoring sports, if it comes with equal amount of mutual benefits to the companies and also sports?

On the other hand, there are also certain drawbacks to this. It may divert the attention of people from sports to their products. furthermore, when ads are shown during sporting events, they may dampen the spirit and enthusiasm of the spectators. Cricket on television is becoming unwatchable due to intrusive ads for example, the broadcast of the tri-series final between India and Pakistan drew plenty of rage on social media for the volume of commercial breaks. Because it tried to break the tempo of the game

In conclusion, even though product adverts distract viewers of sports competitions to a small extent, sports events are promoted to a great extent during these competitions which are sponsored by big multinational firms. So it is good that sports events are sponsored by big organizations.