Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people thing that having more police on streets is the only way to reduce crime.

To what extent do you agree?

There are many countries that are facing the high degree of crime. It can be reduced if there are more police officers patrolling the different areas. It can help in controlling criminal activities. However, changing the mentality of people and making changes in the legal system is also very important.

Crime rate is increasing rapidly because of the growing aggression and immoral behavior of people. Moreover, due to the excessive intolerance, people are too eager to harm each other and tend to do crimes like murder, harassment, vandalism etc. Hence it is very important to change the thinking of humans. there are numerous people in police department who don't understand their responsibility and involve in corruption with bad people. This encourages criminals to do wicked activities without fear. So it is very important to have the tight scrutiny of every officer in police department and there should be strict actions if any police officer is found guilty.

Furthermore, having stringent civil laws can also be a deterrent to crime. If there is strict punishment for crimes like robbery, kidnapping, murder etc. then criminals will be more scared of doing such crimes. Also there should be a ban on the use of liquor and drugs, that is one of the factors to instigate the atrocious mind of people.

To conclude, increasing the number of police officers in the roads is not a reliable solution to reduce crime. There should be a change in the legal system and tougher laws should be made by the government, that can help in minimizing the criminal acts.