In some countries around the world men and women are having children late in life. what are the reasons for the development?what are the effects on society and family life?

Becoming parents in an extremely mature age specifically in the late thirties or early forties is an ongoing trend among many a person these days. The major causes for such a phenomenon are potential focus on career and the desire to enjoy the youth life to the fullest. Some underlying detrimental effects of such a scenario is the generation gap which leads to lack of communication between such parents and their children.

The primary reason of such a situation is that individual prioritise their career to other things such as parenthood. The reason being, many a person perceives their work as an ultimate passion as they desire to achieve a zenith in their life. Therefore, they keep aside the role of becoming parents for the later phase of their life. For an instance, in the recent survey conducted by the Alexandra University, more than 75% of the youngsters opt to pursue the role of being parents in their extremely elder age.

Apart from this, people who simply want to fulfil their urge of enjoying the phase of youth choose to implement the idea of late parenthood. This is because they perceive it as a responsibility and a burden which is why they feel like once they become parents they can no longer continue to amuse themselves in their life. Resultantly, becoming progenitors the almost the last thing they select much in their life in comparison to the traditional parents who become young parents.

The detrimental effects this trend would have on society and family is the generation gap that the parents and children have to face should they become parents late. Since the much age difference between them would obstruct their communication because the parents would not be able to understand the perception of their wards. As a result, the generation gap would not only lead hatred between them but also the challenges to be unable to comprehend each other’s viewpoint. For example various studies conducted by the United States mention that the actual reason that children do not reside with their parents is that the major age difference between them which makes them ignorant of each other’ thoughts.

To conclude, the real causes of becoming parents much later in the lifetime is the desire to achieve certain goals in life and less compromise with the youth. The underlying repercussion on society and family is the hampered life of parents and wards for not understanding each other which leads to the ultimate hatred.