In some countries in Europe, some children from the age of 11 or 13 go to schools to learn more practical skills that will help them get a job. Other children stay in schools which provide a more general academic education. What should schools do to prepare students for the world of work?

Education is an integral part of everyone's childhood. Children in a few western countries, during their early teens, are taught practical knowledge in educational institutions. However, other institutes have a comparatively more generic curriculum. In this essay, I would be attempting to find a viable option that educational institutions could explore to better educate the working class of the future.

On one hand, educational institutes that teach practical skills are trying to make help students with skills that they might require in the future. This is incredibly useful in today's competitive world. On the other hand, general academic educational institutes teach essential bits of information that are considered preliminary in society. General current information and knowledge work as the backbone to any skill learned in the future.

I believe schools should cater to both practical skills and general academic knowledge in equal measure. As an attempt to cover such a wide array of knowledge in school, educational institutions could increase the amount of time children spend in schools. This could also help working parents drop and pick-up children from school. For instance, parents might be able to drop the children at school in the morning on their way to work and pick them up later in the evening on their way back from work.

In conclusion, western countries try different teaching methods and curriculum depending on the changes and needs in society. I am of the opinion that there are advantages and disadvantages in both, the new and old ways of education. However, the educational organization should collectively create a well-rounded education system that includes the merits from both sides.