Children today spend more time watching television than they did in the past. Describe some advantages and disadvantages of television for children.

A few decades ago, owning and watching television was a luxury that was not available to everyone. Due to the industrial revolution and mass production of goods, a child today watches more television than any other time in the course history. Spending many hours in front of the television has its merits and demerits.

On one hand, television is a wonderful source of information and learning. It keeps individuals and children updated with news from around the world. News shows can improve general knowledge and aptitude. Furthermore, it is also perceived as an efficient source of entertainment for leisure time. Some households use television on a regular basis to bond with family. For instance, my family comes together to have dinner and watch some of the most famous shows every day and call it 'family time'.

On the other hand, television is also known as the idiot-box for a reason. It believed to dampen the strength of a human's brain due to high levels of entertainment and unnecessary information. Binge watching television is an unproductive waste of time. One of the leading causes of obesity and other cardiovascular diseases is the sedentary lifestyle led by many. Watching television for many hours at a time could further worsen this and affect health negatively.

In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of watching television for extended periods of time vary on a case by case basis. It greatly depends on how easily a child could be influenced by the information on television and the kinds of shows he or she watches.