In some countries, fast food restaurants and companies give money to schools provided that the schools promote their products to school children.

What do you think is the positive and negative of this in the development of children?

Advertising is one of the most effective ways of marketing any product. Some organizations and fast food restaurants are targeting schools for selling their products. This essay will discuss both the positive and negative impacts of advertising on school children.

Most of the schools don’t have enough infrastructure and equipment to provide latest technological knowledge to children because of insufficient funds. Advertising the products to school children could generate funds to school to provide enough facilities. Although fast food is not a good choice for promotion, the money can be utilized to provide better education to students. For instance, if a school has received an amount sufficient to have computers to all the higher grade students, that benefits the future of the students. Furthermore, ambient facilities would encourage the students to concentrate more on their education. Hence, with the concept of advertising through school children not only will the schools get benefited but also the school children.

Although advertising generates funds, it has negative effects on children development as it is poor diet. Though many children like to eat noodles and other fast food items, they don’t have enough nutrients to suffice a growing brain’s needs. Children have great respect towards their teachers and blindly follow what has been insisted by them. For example, promoting these low dietary products would make children think that fast food is an ideal food choice. Hence, advertising the food products through children has negative impact as they follow what has been advertised by their teachers irrespective of the products.

Is advertising through school children positive or negative? It has both positive and negative sides. The schools can generate enough funds to improvise the facilities to students. In contrast, children may be misled by the teachers about unwanted products.