In some countries, government safety laws include things such as wearing a hard hat on a building site or wearing safety clothes in certain factories. To what extent are laws of this kind good idea? What sort of safety law would you introduce, if you were given a chance?

Various nations across the world have different kinds of safety precaution rules for day-to-day life, including helmet while driving two-wheeler and when inside construction site, wearing seat belts when driving car, safe uniforms in factories etc. I agree to a certain point that these laws are for betterment of the society. But we should also keep in mind that there should always be valid exceptions, in case by case scenarios, such as people who have injuries in head and unable to use hard hats are to be given excuses for not wearing helmet.

For the countries with huge population and with improper road infrastructure, accidents are prone to occur. It will take long time for all the facilities to be properly provided to the citizens. Till then the government cannot ask everyone avoid travelling. The best thing the authorities can do is to introduce conditions to follow to allow them to avail the roads.The laws can include speed limit, fixing permissible number of pillion riders in each type of vehicles, compulsory insurance for the motor-vehicles, proper condition of all parts in cars and bikes, mainly the headlights, brakes, etc. If I was authorized to create the laws, I will include all the above and put hefty fine for any violations. The huge amount levied from violators will make the other vehicle owners adhere to the rules. Similar safety guidelines can be introduced in other sectors like industry, laboratories and research institutes as well, each with different categories of guidelines based on the necessity. The workers in factories are asked to wear uniforms, helmets, gloves and strong shoes. And each employee should be trained to do first aid , which will be very useful to treat the colleagues in case of accidents.

To conclude,if I have been asked to work on safety principles, I will bring in wide range of measures in all sectors for the benefit and wellbeing of country men. Moreover, awareness should be made so that the importance is understood by all.